Thread: Any tutorial on normal.dds with gimp?!

Civis

Default Any tutorial on normal.dds with gimp?!

Does anyone know a tutorial for editing the normal.dds (making a heightmap, bump map, etc) or has made any experience with gimp on this topic, erasmus posted a link on ps, but since most modders work with gimp that would be something interesting

MODMEMBER SKINNING/RESEARCH

---DON'T MENTION THE WAR!---

33orion77's Avatar Tiro

Default Re: Any tutorial on normal.dds with gimp?!

Hello Tobler75!
    I can give you a quick tutorial to do normal map with gimp. But! keep it mind that I'm not a Pro and I'm still learning the process but I can tell you what I know...
    First you needto install the Normal map Pluggin that you can find over here: http://nifelheim.dyndns.org/~cocidius/normalmap/

Now, Once the diffuse is done and saved, go in filter/ map/ normalmap ( I belive it's the correct path but I'm not sure see pict...)
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Then a window should pop up. You can also press the 3D preview button and you should have a view like this
    You can also see the setting I usually use ( default exept minimum z:0,45, scale: between 2 and 2,5) The normal map setting are a difficult thing to find. This setting is not perfect ( a bit flat )but it is the best I found for ETW. The settings they are using for MTW2 are not good in ETW. With those settings Chainmail may look good in MTW2 but fabric looks overtextured in ETW. Once you're done click on "OK" or "validate?" and you should have your normal map. Now, you need to fix the alpha channel. The gimp normalmap pluggin is suppose to emulate the photoshop nvidia pluggin so maybe I'll have a look at those tutorial... I'm sure there should be a way in gimp to to this but I don't know yet...