Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Story- Greeks vs. Egyptions

This is my first attempt at a story thread, try not to laugh...(too hard) *tongue*

The year is 222 B.C. With the greeks pushed out of Asia Minor and the Macedonians pressing hard on the northern territories, the Greek Alliance requires new territories. They have sent ships to the fertile banks of the nile, to take and conquer the Egyptions riches. They have been weakened by the Selucids and the Carthaginians in constant war for over thirty years. As such, the Enemy are only able to field Nubian Auxilliaries and some Egyption regulars.

As the battle begins, the Greeks and Egyptions lined up on opposite sides of the only bridge accross the Nile for miles.

Trying to gain an upper hand, the Egyptions raced a set of Nubian Auxilliaries accross the bridge to gain an early foot hold.

However, the greeks hustled into postion and were able to thwart the Nubians advance.

In an attempt to force the crossing, Nubian Cavalry rushed in, and were sunsequently slaughtered on the ends of the Greek pikes

only one cavalry man was able to rout, he carried a fellow soldier with him in his arm

Once again, the Egyptions tried to force the crossing, except, this time the Pharoah himself led the attack. He died in the initial charge. However, his men were able to push back the phalanx and almost crack the greek lines. Unfortunately, this was not to be and the Athenians surrounded them and struck them down one by one. Enraged at his father's death, the Pharoah's son too charged in, if only to meet the same fate.

Enthused from victory, the Athenians charged out and faced the Nubians in hand to hand combat, where they were far outnumbered.

In revenge for their fallen kings, the Nile spearmen spilt the blood of many greeks, wiping out an entire unit on the bridge, the remainder were very disheartened, and turned their backs on the enemy for a time.