Thread: Hammer and the Cross, Dark Age Mod.

Icon1 Hammer and the Cross, Dark Age Mod.

Hi all, I figured it was about time I actually posted some info on this project I've been working on for the last six months. This will take a few posts I think, so this is part 1, the basic info.

The basic idea was to create a mod based on Harry Harrison's awesome "Hammer and the Cross" trilogy. This idea expanded somewhat as time went on, as I will explain. For those that aren't aware of it (and I would highly recommended checking them out if you aren't), the books are based on an a dark ages alternate timeline. The start of the first book is the viking invasions in England and many of the characters in all the books are historical ones. As time goes on things change, largely thanks to the protagonist (Shef Sigvarthsson) and his main enemy Bruno.

The main result of this is that historical events and advancements of the age happen much faster. The key thing to note here about the novels is that Harrison is generally a sci-fi writter not a fantasy one, and that comes out in the book. A lot of it is about learning new things or re-discovering old ones. Now none of this get's silly, they don't get quite as far as discovering gunpowder (though you can tell that will happen much earlier) but each advancement matters. There is a lot of focus on siege weapons and things such as greek fire. Actually a lot of things that are in the game as standard (well kingdoms). The difference is when and where the things develope and the fact that we are looking at a late dark ages set up.