Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

  1. #1
    fingon's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic, Brno
    Posts
    310
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Icon7 Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Hello,

    I would be really happy if someone could post step-by-step tutorial how to change in-game flags. We know that there are 19 flags in Ui/flags but how to edit them in photoshop?? Lets say we have some historical flag and we want to implement it into the game. So what we must do. Some guide would really help. Thx for replies.

  2. #2
    fingon's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic, Brno
    Posts
    310
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Noone?? So thank you very much...

  3. #3
    msldta's Avatar Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Fingon
    I didnt use photoshop so i cant help you there waiting to get my photoshop copy but its as easy as unpacking the files you need and using a simple image editor and cutting out the old flag and then editing your flag and insert it into the old flag so you can size it up right and repack it but the MOST IMPORTANT PART IS MAKE SURE WHEN YOU REPACK YOUR MODIFIED FILES THAT THERE FOLDER IS IN THE DATA FOLDER OF YOUR ETW DIRECTORY FOLDER :C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\empire total war\data better yet when you unpack the rigidmodels and UI folder unpack them into your C:\ProgramFiles\Steam\SteamApps\common\empire total war\data because when u want to repack them if there not in your data folder u wont be able to repack and use them ok so back to where i was
    then use your DDS converter program and convert them into a bmp or png and change the output folder to something maybe in your documents like i did then edit the files to your liking for the flag then when your are done make sure to convert them back either to TGA or DDS remember that if your not sure about if u need to convert it too TGA or DDS remember that the UI folder files are all TGA and Rigidmodels folder files are in DDS format when i get my photoshop i give u a step by step picture tutorial to help but might be a few days ordered my copy of photoshop last night
    i know this really didnt help much as far as editing goes but your best bet is too unpack it for fun then mess around with them editing wise to get the feel of photoshop and see what u can do wish i could help u with photoshop but im clueless until i get mine
    Last edited by msldta; April 08, 2009 at 11:37 PM.

  4. #4
    fingon's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Czech Republic, Brno
    Posts
    310
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Thanks for reply. I know how to unpack the flags, I wanted to know how to create a new flag from scratch, because someone here posted that there is a white flag used for retreating troops. So that I can use it and edit it in PS. Then its also hard to make the animated flags that u see in flags folder. But thats another story. I see noone has created its own animated flags yet.

  5. #5
    msldta's Avatar Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Use pack file manager open your models pack,then expand rigidmodels, flags, textures and in texture expand there is whiteflag.dds thats the one Cainrae was talking about

  6. #6
    Cainrae's Avatar Kajiwara
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    296
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Lot of posts around with guides
    http://www.gamersgate.com?caff=1905421
    Support GamersGate! The cheaper solution to online gaming. Note, when clicking the link above you'll be giving me a "blue coin" score (Discounts). If you have no interest in such, use the following link: http://www.gamersgate.com

  7. #7
    Mr. Scott's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,310
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    how do you change the flag for a faction?
    "Keep your eyes on the stars and your feet on the ground" - Theodore Roosevelt
    Get out of Guam ASAP...

  8. #8
    erasmus777's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,151
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Quote Originally Posted by msldta View Post
    Fingon
    I didnt use photoshop so i cant help you there waiting to get my photoshop copy but its as easy as unpacking the files you need and using a simple image editor and cutting out the old flag and then editing your flag and insert it into the old flag so you can size it up right and repack it but the MOST IMPORTANT PART IS MAKE SURE WHEN YOU REPACK YOUR MODIFIED FILES THAT THERE FOLDER IS IN THE DATA FOLDER OF YOUR ETW DIRECTORY FOLDER :C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\empire total war\data better yet when you unpack the rigidmodels and UI folder unpack them into your C:\ProgramFiles\Steam\SteamApps\common\empire total war\data because when u want to repack them if there not in your data folder u wont be able to repack and use them ok so back to where i was
    then use your DDS converter program and convert them into a bmp or png and change the output folder to something maybe in your documents like i did then edit the files to your liking for the flag then when your are done make sure to convert them back either to TGA or DDS remember that if your not sure about if u need to convert it too TGA or DDS remember that the UI folder files are all TGA and Rigidmodels folder files are in DDS format when i get my photoshop i give u a step by step picture tutorial to help but might be a few days ordered my copy of photoshop last night
    i know this really didnt help much as far as editing goes but your best bet is too unpack it for fun then mess around with them editing wise to get the feel of photoshop and see what u can do wish i could help u with photoshop but im clueless until i get mine
    This is a definite contender for run-on sentence of the year. I ran out of breath just reading it.

  9. #9
    Yamabe
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    268
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Is it possible to create one different flag for each units ? a specific flag for prussian dragoons, another flag for prussian grenadier etc etc....

  10. #10
    Bladerunner's Avatar Chinen
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    422
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    No - The selection of the used flag is within the faction_table, so it is done by faction not by unit.
    Bladerunner
    Koeniglich Preussische Marine
    Sealords Virtual Fleets

    Sealords Minimod: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=274322
    Sealords Total War Mod: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=246265

  11. #11
    Mr. Scott's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,310
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    whenever I change the flags in the UI and texture files, etc. the flags in the campaign don't change. But all the rest does. Any help?
    "Keep your eyes on the stars and your feet on the ground" - Theodore Roosevelt
    Get out of Guam ASAP...

  12. #12
    Hastatus
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    525
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Quote Originally Posted by scottypd54 View Post
    whenever I change the flags in the UI and texture files, etc. the flags in the campaign don't change. But all the rest does. Any help?
    rigidmodels/flags

  13. #13
    Der_kaiser's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    61
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Quote Originally Posted by msldta View Post
    Fingon
    I didnt use photoshop so i cant help you there waiting to get my photoshop copy but its as easy as unpacking the files you need and using a simple image editor and cutting out the old flag and then editing your flag and insert it into the old flag so you can size it up right and repack it but the MOST IMPORTANT PART IS MAKE SURE WHEN YOU REPACK YOUR MODIFIED FILES THAT THERE FOLDER IS IN THE DATA FOLDER OF YOUR ETW DIRECTORY FOLDER :C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\empire total war\data better yet when you unpack the rigidmodels and UI folder unpack them into your C:\ProgramFiles\Steam\SteamApps\common\empire total war\data because when u want to repack them if there not in your data folder u wont be able to repack and use them ok so back to where i was
    then use your DDS converter program and convert them into a bmp or png and change the output folder to something maybe in your documents like i did then edit the files to your liking for the flag then when your are done make sure to convert them back either to TGA or DDS remember that if your not sure about if u need to convert it too TGA or DDS remember that the UI folder files are all TGA and Rigidmodels folder files are in DDS format when i get my photoshop i give u a step by step picture tutorial to help but might be a few days ordered my copy of photoshop last night
    i know this really didnt help much as far as editing goes but your best bet is too unpack it for fun then mess around with them editing wise to get the feel of photoshop and see what u can do wish i could help u with photoshop but im clueless until i get mine
    Can someone make this easier to understand/read?

  14. #14
    Der_kaiser's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    61
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    I request this either be updated for simplicity's sake or removed from the tutorial list. It's completely incomprehensible. It doesn't mention what files need to be edited, or even how you edit them. All I see is "Convert" and "I don't have photoshop". Not to mention the various contradictions. Please, clean it up or remove it.

  15. #15
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Hello,
    I've managed to make all the flags of Hannover to East Frisia flags and it works well. However, it arisen the following problem: The images of flags, which are not completely filled by a flag, have a black background in my game. This looks very bad. So can anybody help me with my problem?

  16. #16
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Request for the tutorial: How to create the flags

    Problem solved: The converter did not work right. With another it worked.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •