Thread: about ExRM units

Default about ExRM units

hi i am new to this awesome game, i just downloaded ExRM and i realise all the units are completely changed... mostly... to make it realistic...

so i was playing as romans in custom battle and i realise i dun have urban cohort/praetorian/legionary cohorts....

i only have early first legionary and early legionary with hastati principle and trariis...

is this normal ? or must i wait till after the marian reforms to get back the urban praetorian and legionary cohorts?

Default Re: about ExRM units

You get the legionaries at the same time with Hastati etc. and thatīs before Marian Reform happens? That shouldnīt be the case, actually.

Praetorians and other impirial units do not belong to the timeframe covered by ExRM afaik.

hmm so if i dun get legionaries means somethings wrong?

btw whats afaik?

i only got early legionaries ...

Eat Meat Whale Meat
    Technical Staff Citizen took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

The RTR FAQ explains some of the missing units, which didn't exist in RL in the form that they do in RTW. There used to be a set of late republican units, but since they appear so late in the game, and other factions needed some beefing up in terms of rosters, they were taken out in order to free up space in the descr_model_battle.txt file, which only has a limited number of unit slots.

AFAIK = as far as i know.

You should get early legionaries, but only after the Marian Reform, not at the same time with early republican troops like hastati, princeps and triarii.

So, before reform: the standard troops and after it: the early legionaries instead.

Pannonian editionally explained the reasons, why the late legionaries ( the impirial ones ) were taken out from the gameplay point of view.

Quinn Inuit's Avatar Artifex

Hi Crenzy! I'm glad you're enjoying this. There's not really much I can add to the answers you've already received. That's precisely why we've done what we've done.