Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: anyone modding SHARPE?

  1. #1

    Default anyone modding SHARPE?

    hey guys, has anyone modded sharpe or his chosen men into Empire total war yet? If so, could you please tell me because I am desperate to have him in!! Thanks a lot,

    Matt

  2. #2
    BanditKS's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    The British have the green coats already. so he is in there "technically" but i don't think there is a mod about HIM yet.



  3. #3

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    I guess the "Expansion" for ETW will be "Napoleons Empire Total War" so that should include the "Peninsula War" + the "Napoleonic Wars (1799-1815). Only time will tell

  4. #4
    General A. Skywalker's Avatar Chancellor's Lackey
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    currently Coruscant, but born on Tatooine
    Posts
    3,205

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainCox View Post
    I guess the "Expansion" for ETW will be "Napoleons Empire Total War" so that should include the "Peninsula War" + the "Napoleonic Wars (1799-1815). Only time will tell
    My guess, too.

    However, I hope we won't see Sharpe in the expansion, that'd be kind of ridiculous! (I mean a British uber-riflemen... not really good for gameplay I guess. )

  5. #5
    BanditKS's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by General A. Skywalker View Post
    My guess, too.

    However, I hope we won't see Sharpe in the expansion, that'd be kind of ridiculous! (I mean a British uber-riflemen... not really good for gameplay I guess. )
    they did use Sharpe and Hornblower for reference for military and navy combat.



  6. #6
    english tyrant's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colchester
    Posts
    2,111

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by General A. Skywalker View Post
    My guess, too.

    However, I hope we won't see Sharpe in the expansion, that'd be kind of ridiculous! (I mean a British uber-riflemen... not really good for gameplay I guess. )
    :O I think it would be rather good actually

  7. #7
    General A. Skywalker's Avatar Chancellor's Lackey
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    currently Coruscant, but born on Tatooine
    Posts
    3,205

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by BanditKS View Post
    they did use Sharpe and Hornblower for reference for military and navy combat.
    But that does't mean we should actually meet them on the battlefield.

  8. #8

  9. #9

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by General A. Skywalker View Post
    My guess, too.

    However, I hope we won't see Sharpe in the expansion, that'd be kind of ridiculous! (I mean a British uber-riflemen... not really good for gameplay I guess. )

    While Sharpe might be a matter of fiction British uber Riflemen were real enough and should be a part of any Napoleonic combat, especially the Penninsular campaign.

  10. #10
    Caelifer_1991's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom, European Union
    Posts
    2,917

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Well if Sharpe and his men are to remain true to the series then they'd have to miraculously evade being shot by anything and have ALL french units, especially cavelry, simple run around in circles before routing at the mere sight of them...

  11. #11
    General A. Skywalker's Avatar Chancellor's Lackey
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    currently Coruscant, but born on Tatooine
    Posts
    3,205

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by Crow View Post
    While Sharpe might be a matter of fiction British uber Riflemen were real enough and should be a part of any Napoleonic combat, especially the Penninsular campaign.
    Of course, never claimed they shouldn't! (I was only referring to Sharpe!)
    Greenjackets are in the original ETW already, so I expect them to be in a Napoleon expansion, too!

  12. #12

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Forget Richard Sharpe. I would be happier if they could make the Riflemen behave right. They really should use their superior range. It would be great if they would stay out of musket range automatically. Run, turn, fire, run. In pairs if possible.

    FatBaron

    PS: Should be possible though to alter the facial texture to make all officers look like Sean Bean.

  13. #13

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by FatBaron View Post
    Forget Richard Sharpe. I would be happier if they could make the Riflemen behave right. They really should use their superior range. It would be great if they would stay out of musket range automatically. Run, turn, fire, run. In pairs if possible.

    FatBaron

    PS: Should be possible though to alter the facial texture to make all officers look like Sean Bean.
    already working on it

    Just managed to put a seperate unit/model/texture in the game called "sharpe's rifles" as above, but now with it being seperate, I can make changes to the texture of it, without affecting the normal green jackets unit. Guide to create a "new" unit (as in a new model to be referanced unit tables) is in the modding workshop forum.

    I was actually toying with removing the green jackets unit, and have a 1 recruitable unit for the 60th rifles (red collars) and a 1 recruitable unit for the 95th rifles and then having the sharpes rifles as a seperate but better version (with faces for sharpe, harper, harris and hagman).

  14. #14
    Sharpe's Avatar Praeses
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    8,870

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    O.MY.GOD

  15. #15

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Quote Originally Posted by warmachine View Post
    already working on it

    Just managed to put a seperate unit/model/texture in the game called "sharpe's rifles" as above, but now with it being seperate, I can make changes to the texture of it, without affecting the normal green jackets unit. Guide to create a "new" unit (as in a new model to be referanced unit tables) is in the modding workshop forum.

    I was actually toying with removing the green jackets unit, and have a 1 recruitable unit for the 60th rifles (red collars) and a 1 recruitable unit for the 95th rifles and then having the sharpes rifles as a seperate but better version (with faces for sharpe, harper, harris and hagman).
    Sounds like fun. But - once again - I would prefer a more intelligent skirmishing AI over textures. But this is much more harder to do I guess.

    Looking forward to Sharpe and his comrades. Let us know what you come up with!

    FatBaron

  16. #16
    KozCDVI's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Aberystwyth
    Posts
    2,016

    Default Re: anyone modding SHARPE?

    Sounds great.
    Be sure to post updates

    “My mother taught me never to throw stones at cripples. My father taught me to aim for their heads.”
    - Ramsay Snow

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •