Thread: Interesting/Unorthodox Tactics

Default Interesting/Unorthodox Tactics

Earlier today I played my first multiplayer match. I am new to MP, so I decided to try an unorthodox trick to see if it would work.

I picked Poland-Lithuania. My allies were Ottomans, French, and Swedes. My army basically consisted of 1 General's bodyguard, 6 Polish Winged Hussars, and 1 Light Infantry (all fully upgraded). My enemies were Americans, French, Persia (???), and British.

The battle began with my French ally marching straight into the enemy French/American line. My ally had only Line Infantry, and it was a very bloody fight. Despite being totally outnumbered, my ally inflicted heavy casualties.

Meanwhile, the Persians made a front line of Hindu Infantry a little ways infront of my Ottoman ally (who was doing nothing). I sent my LI into the woods to raid his guys, when all of the sudden he sent some Cavalry (Apahis or something) into the woods. I sent 1 unit of Hussars into the woods. His British ally (who was cheating by using one unit of artillery) sent troops (Guards I think), and the battle became a slugfest.

Up north, my Swede ally had pretty well crushed most of the enemy French army (the Swedes were basically a balanced army), while the Ottomans still did nothing. I threw all my cavalry into the fight, and I would say I took down many of his troops, including the British Guards and a huge clump of Persian cavalry.

Then the Ottomans advance, just as my entire army begins to flee. Ironically enough, his (largely infantry with 3 cavalry units) army completely mops the floor with the British-Persian army, and swings around to hit the weakened French-American force up north.

Then my game crashed .

Would you say my tactic is of any value? I am currently trying different things (never cheap tricks like Mortar Spamming though), and want to see if I can find a tactic that works well.