Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Have there even been any good Civil War games?

PROFESSORPAUL's Avatar Senator

I'm just starting to learn about the Civil War in school. It's actually pretty interesting.

Every battle was pretty large, and it's when they first started to use gattling guns! :w00t

I think there was only like ONE Civil War game in the past that was good.

Robert E Lee's "Civil War General"

You've probably never heard of it. It came out back in 96' or 97', I forgot which. It was made by Sierra. It was an RTS where you move armies across "hexagon" squares and when two armies meet depending on the location and how experianced or how many men one side has, it brings up little videos of how the battle went and where it happened.

It was actually pretty fun. The only other civil war game I remember was Gods and Generals, and that game made me cry because of how lousy it was.

With all of these WW2 and Vietnam games coming around, when are there going to be any decent Civil War games? I think the Civil War was overlooked. It ended slavery, was the bloodiest war in American history, and was pretty cool for its own reasons.

In the following years, I hope they make at least TWO good Civil War games. One FPS, and one RTS. And they should have ragdoll physics and awesome graphics. Get into the new technology

".........." -Gordon Freeman

Eric's Avatar Praepositus

who wants a first person shooted were they use muskets! honestly
    Better to stand under the Crown than to kneel under a Flag

Life is fleeting, but glory lives forever! Conquer new lands, rule over the seas, build an empire! World Alliances

hormiga's Avatar Senator

Sid Meiers Gettysburg and Antietam

similar to the battles in Total War.... probably dated by now. Excellent games though.

Gelatinous Cube's Avatar Ducenarius

Where can I find "Civil War General"? Downloadable anywhere, or should I start looking on Ebay?
    Cube: I want a sign from god, in special godly ink, proving his existence.