Thread: Serious steam problems...

Laetus

Default Serious steam problems...

Hi, first of all, I would like to apologize as I am adding yet another topic detailing people's strife with steam ; however I really have no idea what this means , could anyone shed light as to what this error code indicates and what I can do to fix it?
    " Steamprocess(create account) (0xab003,0xd25sc4c,0x2dfd54) failed with error 200: failed to connect to any general directory server,winsock error 0 'no error' "

As I have mentioned I have no prior experience with steam apart from this installation of ETW , its really frustrating me that I cannot even install the game I bought (boxed) for thirty quid! , ach , I was really looking forward to this game .
    “My parents were so poor, so poor that they used to take me to the pet department and tell me it was a zoo.”

Ondaderthad's Avatar Tiro

Default Re: Serious steam problems...

Google is your friend when you get errors.

A quick search revealed:
    http://www.steamfriends.com/forums/i...?showtopic=589

and in particular:
    Firewall Issues With Steam

I receive one or more of the following errors:

* Steam.exe (main exception): Unable to load library Steam.dll
    * SteamProcessCall(Login) failed with error 200: Connection Reset, WinSock error 10054 Connection Reset by Peer
    * SteamStartEngine(0x12e88c) failed with error 201: Cannot perform this operation while offline
    * Steam Servers Busy or Servers are Busy
    * Steam is temporarily unavailable
    * Secure Connection Failed
    * Could not connect to Steam Network
    * Could not connect to Master Game Server to Retrieve Server List

These error messages usually occur when a firewall is blocking or interfering with steam in any way. You will need to add the following to your firewalls exception list...

* steaminstall.exe
    * steam.exe
    * hl.exe
    * hl2.exe
    * steamTmp.exe