Thread: Ancient Empires

Default Ancient Empires

I am new to modding Total War, but not new to modding, as I've made a full game to play for Titan Quest, all by myself..

http://www.titanquest.net/forums/mod...rsion-6-a.html

anyone can download this mod and play it, but you need Titan Quest Gold (about £6 from Amazon)

Anyway.. my main interest is in the ancient world, starting off from the basics, and focus on the old empires of Babylon, Egypt, Hittite etc. There has only been one turn based strat. game, of this genre, and that was 'Chariots of War' by Slitherine, and this game 'sucked'.. (sorry but it did), there was no diplomacy, and no auto-resolve, and dumb AI, ,,.. you could forgive the simple 2D graphic for battles, the map was good, covered the whole mid-east, (but not much of europe).. so i didn't play much of this game, as it was too tedious. So my proposal is to mod-up Empire, when it comes out, and use basic soldier types like native americans, and any other non-firearm type unit, and then try and swap over textures..
    I did this with titan quest; swapping textures and meshes is the easyest way to create new stuff, as the game already has them.. to try and import textures can be very difficult, it's possible, but i could not do it for TQ. and it requires a separate package to install the new textures.
    But using a map editor, i should be able to create a modified ancient world, but i'll have to see what can be done, with moving/re-naming cities etc.
    Someone was saying that Civ4 could have been the perfect game if it had Total War type battles.. i agree up to a point, as i find the Total War sieges totally tedious, and use auto-resolve a lot, so i propose a simpler battle activity in this mod. More Spartan/Civ4 like..
    Also, I'm not keen on chariots, although they were a big part of the ancient world, perhaps just have formations of soldiers, with shields and spears being as good as you can get.

What do you think?