Thread: Geopolitics and Total War

delArko's Avatar Laetus

Default Geopolitics and Total War

I'm not precisely sure where this should go as a topic, but it will deal strictly with the mechanics of this game based upon practical considerations, for both the campaign and battle map.

Whether you play the AI, or play hotseat with somebody else, most would agree that there are many little things that need to be corrected in order to have a successful (and realistic) campaign. The aim is to use this forum to iron these issues out, solely based on the very concept of Total War.

I'm not a modding expert, nor do I need to be. I wish merely to discuss, using faction/faction examples, where victory or defeat lies based on the tools and options one has and can acquire to fight a war as efficiently and sensibly as possible.

So if you, like me, find the most enjoyment in military logistics and strategic thought as they apply to this game series, then feel free to throw in your two cents.

For those "all aboard", please let me know this won't end up being a thread for the trash bin soon after, for I feel there is plenty to talk about.

Until my next post, thanks for your time and again feel free to comment.

delArko

Halie Satanus's Avatar Emperor of ice cream
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Geopolitics and Total War

Has possibilities, I think you need to give an example/scenario, people round here tend to prefer a starting point on a plate rather than trying to eat the whole larder (I know terrible analogy).. Good idea to state where your own interest is, Rome, Medieval, LOTR?..

You'll also, probably, have to deal with differing mods and how they tackle logistical expansion which might mean comparing mods, something which is a sure fire way to see a thread derailed with 'who better who's best' arguments..

So maybe kick off with unit recruitment/AoR systems, or religious/educational buildings vs economic for the long term..

Welcome to TWC..

delArko's Avatar Laetus