Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: [RS 1.6a] My EDU - 3x Costs, 2x Maintenance for Units

Default [RS 1.6a] My EDU - 3x Costs, 2x Maintenance for Units

EDIT: After trying with 3x recruit and 2x maintain, I tried 2x recruit with 2x maintain and it worked better for the AI.

I recently started playing RS again, but I modified the EDU (for 0-turn) so that all units now cost double to recruit and double to maintain. I did this to address two problems:

-Stack spamming by enemy AI later in the game, forcing you to fight multiple major battles every single turn. Now, the enemy can still raise stacks quickly as in 0-turn (allowing the AI to be more effective), but the number of full stacks possible is significantly reduced.

-Ridiculous amounts of money in the treasury. When playing as Rome, after the first few turns I always ended up having so much money that I couldn't figure out how to spend it all (this is mostly because of the tax bonuses given in home regions and the high income from mines, but also from the fairly low unit costs in general in RS). Unless I simply gave it away or cheated using the console, my treasury would accumulate astronomically. I feel with 2x initial costs and 2x maintenance the economy is much more balanced, and if you want to field lots of legions (especially early in the game) then you'll need to pay attention to your economy.

I've been testing this more expensive EDU file with RS on both BI and ALX, and I have to say I like it much better. It makes the 0-turn recruitment far more tolerable. The AI will still invade with multiple stacks and can still recruit defense forces quickly (leaving the challenge and advantages of 0-turn), but the increased costs seem to prevent the AI from throwing multiple full stacks at you every single turn.