Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 52

Thread: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

  1. #1
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,222

    Default Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    This small addon adds 2 stone forts to any M2TW mod. me_fort_a for Middle Eastern cultures and knightly_order_fort_b for all the others. (except mesoamerican)
    The forts are stone on both the campaign map and the battlemap, do not need pre-placing and are buildable by family members.
    Also makes stone forts on custom battle.
    Unfortunately this does not work for Kingdoms.

    Filefront Link

    NEW LINK

    Simply copy the models_strat and settlements folders into the data folder or your Medieval 2 mod, overwriting any existing files as you go.
    For those of you that maybe interested or don't have a mod, this will work in the Wardog test folder.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 



    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    Last edited by Eothese; October 23, 2009 at 04:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Gigantus's Avatar I hate it when the voices in my head go silent - I never know what the buggers are planning next.
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    32,820

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW


  3. #3
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,222

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    Yes, thanks gigantus. Thats pretty much where I started. But those forts are wooden when you build them on campaign map.

  4. #4
    Gigantus's Avatar I hate it when the voices in my head go silent - I never know what the buggers are planning next.
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    32,820

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    You always have to choose between buildable or ready placed. The version I uploaded is the ready placed one. Simple change in the xml file will change that to buildable.
    We discussed that further down in the thread.

    Guess both versions will come handy. (Mine is a bit smaller: 140KB)

  5. #5
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,222

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    Quote Originally Posted by gigantus View Post
    You always have to choose between buildable or ready placed.
    Not with this you don't, remember its for Medieval only, not Kingdoms. It replaces the wooden forts with stone.

    Quote Originally Posted by gigantus View Post
    The version I uploaded is the ready placed one. Simple change in the xml file will change that to buildable.
    Could you elaborate further, because I tried for a long time to get it to work that way.


    Quote Originally Posted by gigantus View Post
    We discussed that further down in the thread.
    I know, I was there. The last kingdoms patch didn't fix anything.

  6. #6
    Ishiyumi no shashu
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    705

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    when I put it in mymod data I can see the forts and some castles changes on the strat map, and no change for any of these on the battle map.

    When I put it in original data, I get a ctd when I launch the game.

    What is the deals ?

    Please write me what to do ?

    I thank you

  7. #7
    Gigantus's Avatar I hate it when the voices in my head go silent - I never know what the buggers are planning next.
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    32,820

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    @Eathese
    What I mean is that you either:

    1. Have preplaced stone forts and can only build wooden forts or
    2. can build stone forts instead of wooden forts

    You cannot:
    Have preplaced stone forts and build stone forts

    Here is the part of my thread regarding the file setting:

    2. Open descr_campaign_db.xml with Notepad and scroll down to the <settlements> sections. The following two lines have to be written exactly like they are here:
    <destroy_empty_forts bool="false"/>
    <can_build_forts bool="false"/>
    Save and exit
    The first line disables the automatic destruct of forts when left empty.
    The second line stops the AI (and you) to erect (now indestructible) forts.

  8. #8
    Ishiyumi no shashu
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    705

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    gigantus do you know what i should do ?

  9. #9
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,222

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    Filip_bre, I have addressed your problem as best I could in the workshop. There are some screen shots of this working.

    gigantus, I don't mean to be problematic but as understand it the xml lines don't have any bearing on what is built, they simply say whether the empty fort is destroyed or not (first line) and whether you as a player can build forts at all, or not (second line)

    If you have tested this on a Kingdoms mod and can make it so that stone forts can be built by generals on the campaign map which are then stone on the battlemap and you can show me how to, I'll rep you every day I can for the rest of my life. Because I tried and tried to work with what yourself and zxiang1983 provided, but the only thing I could get were pre-placed stone forts.
    Last edited by Eothese; November 07, 2008 at 05:02 AM.

  10. #10
    Gigantus's Avatar I hate it when the voices in my head go silent - I never know what the buggers are planning next.
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    32,820

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    Let's see if I can get that rep

  11. #11
    Giovi's Avatar Otium cum dignitate
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4,179

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    nice

  12. #12
    Prince Vinc's Avatar Wimmer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    122

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    I can install your mod with Broken Crescent?He work with MTW2 not kingdom,but this mod is very different than Vanilla games.

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,222

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    The addon is made using Kingdoms 1.5 for M2TW 1.3. As long as there are no changes to the settlement folder in BC there should be no problems.

  14. #14
    Prince Vinc's Avatar Wimmer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    122

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    thanks,he work good,but buildable castle are temporair and the AI factions no build that.

  15. #15
    Condottiere SOG's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,258

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    with a proper campaign_ai xml, the AI for the game will make forts. CAI by Xeryx does this as does other campaign_ai mods........

  16. #16
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,222

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    Quote Originally Posted by Prince Vinc View Post
    thanks,he work good,but buildable castle are temporair and the AI factions no build that.
    I said they were buildable not permenent, however...

    To make them permenent go to descr_campaign_db and open with notepad. Add <destroy_empty_forts bool="false"/> to the settlements section.

  17. #17
    Ishiyumi no shashu
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    705

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    What addon from the version 1.3 I need so I can use these stone forts in my 1.1 ?

  18. #18
    Emperor of The Great Unknown's Avatar Pili Posterior
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    far enough where verizon cant go
    Posts
    2,987

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    ok does work for bc?? and why make them perimit you could just spam them everywhere as long as there stone!

  19. #19
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,222

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    Quote Originally Posted by Filip_bre View Post
    What addon from the version 1.3 I need so I can use these stone forts in my 1.1 ?
    Sorry, no idea.

    Quote Originally Posted by Emperor of The Great Unknown View Post
    ok does work for bc?? and why make them perimit you could just spam them everywhere as long as there stone!
    Haven't tried it myself but according to Prince Vinc, it works with BC.

  20. #20
    Emperor of The Great Unknown's Avatar Pili Posterior
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    far enough where verizon cant go
    Posts
    2,987

    Default Re: Buildable Stone Forts for M2TW

    ah it does but you can only build rams for it just too bad and the fact theres no artillary in custom battles ah that would be agervating have every ram that comes close get destoryed.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •