Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gauls obsolete?

Njord's Avatar Civis

Default Gauls obsolete?

I'm new to online play as of today, I was inspired to come on by the PrinceofMacedon's and Cluny The Scourges commentary videos.

First few battles went well, most likely because my opponents couldn't tell their elbows from their arses. When I started playing more experienced players(along with more cheesier variation of players, such as the noobbox formation, spartan corner camping) I noticed that Gaul are seriously lacking in some match ups. Mostly cavalry heavy and long ranged archer orientated armies. (Egypt, Rome, Macedonia, Germanic gothic cavalry heavy armies..)

Am I doing something wrong? Or are my warbands and nobles actually meant to stand up to a 5/6 unit praetorian cavalry charge?

=/

I only wonder if Gauls are obsolete because Germania seemingly can do all that Gaul can, with a more demoralizing effect, Phalanxes, better infantry melee and much sturdier cavalry.

Oh, by the way, Greetings and salutations. I'm Njord, more commonly known as Loki and I hail from Ireland.

Prince_of_Macedon's Avatar Πρίγκηψ της Μακεδονίας

Default Re: Gauls obsolete?

Quote Originally Posted by Njord View Post
    I'm new to online play as of today, I was inspired to come on by the PrinceofMacedon's and Cluny The Scourges commentary videos.
    There's actually quite a few R:TW videos now with commentary. I was the first one though, and I'm glad many have followed.

In any case, I have several videos of myself winning as Gaul.

But the problem with Gaul is that the game designers completely underestimated their abilities (historically-speaking). So yes, Gaul and Spain share a similar fate online. Gaul is worse off than Spain though.
    Last edited by Prince_of_Macedon; November 02, 2008 at 11:29 PM.
    HOW TO PLAY EMPIRE TOTAL WAR OFFLINE

"It is a lovely thing to live with courage and to die leaving behind an everlasting renown." - ALEXANDER THE GREAT