Page 1 of 130 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 26 51 101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 2593

Thread: Geomod Tool for Mapping

  1. #1
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Hello everyone. I'm glad to tell you that a tool has been recently released.

    The aim of this tool is to make mapping easier. You can create a entire map with just the tool : new settlements, map from scratch, changing heights, moving characters etc.


    For now the tool is in French, English and German and this is just a open beta (v 0.3.6), so not everything can be done with it, but be patient this is just a question of time

    An english translation is available (but only for the old version)


    Links to latest versions

    Tutorial for Geomod : Adding a new settlement. By Nakharar

    Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig


    This tool has been codded by Octavius. Translated from french by gigantus.



    -----How To Use It (french version)------

    1-Download the tool
    2-Launch the installer
    3-Run the tool via the exe

    Old Versions
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    - 1 Download the tool
    - 2 Extract it in your Medieval II Total War folder
    - 3 Launch Geomod.exe
    - 4 Select the map you want to mod (Medieval II Total War folder = vanilla map, teutonic folder = teutonic map)
    - 5 Use the tool


    Ps : I recommand you to make sav of your previews maps in case you did errors . I also warn you that Geomod is today not perfect and might have some bugs.




    ------How To Use It (english version)------

    General:
    I have taken the translated GeoMod upload provided by Octavius and have made the following changes\additions:

    1. Replaced all files in the M2TW_files folder with the English versions
    2. Extracted and converted icons from GeoMod and BinEditor for use with the installer
    3. Put everything into this installer

    Note:
    Have a look in the M2TW_files folder to see which files the program needs. Explore the folder with the program to your heart's content.

    Installation:
    - The installer will automatically detect your installation of M2TW and then install the program into the M2TW\tools subfolder.
    - Shortcuts for GeoMod and BinEditor will be put on the desktop[/quote]

    "I came across a bug:" (gigantus)
    GeoMod would freeze at 18% loading.

    Reason: some of the M2TW files were read-only
    Solution: remove read-only attribute

    Might need a subroutine to check that.



    ------Also In-----
    When you will extract your geomod.zip you'll find another exe which is bineditor.exe. This is another tool that allows you to edit your string.bin files without having to convert them
    Download BinEditor only


    -----News from the new version-----
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    You can now manage all ressources with items to make the task easy.



    Moreover, you can also start to manage characters on the strat map : move, delete, and coordinate.
    For now things like "reset", "confirm" or "add" are still not possible.



    There's also some new fix, some bugs corrected.





    Other screens :
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    [center]



    Last edited by Gigantus; June 11, 2016 at 09:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Gigantus's Avatar I came, I saw, I tutored
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    44,961
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Links to latest versions - 14th July 2010

    Geomod 0.6.18 FR = French (includes BinEditor 3.0)
    Geomod 0.6.18 DE = German (includes BinEditor 3.0)
    Geomod 0.6.18 EN = English (includes BinEditor 3.0)
    Geomod 0.6.18 IT = Italian (includes BinEditor 3.0)
    Geomod 0.6.18 TK = Turkish (includes BinEditor 3.0)

    Bare Geomod - a base 'vanilla' mod folder (fully kingdoms compatible) for use with Geomod

    The Geomod Manual by gig - still a WIP, but already quite comprehensive and detailed.

    Important Information - please read
    Files used by Geomod - asterix (*) shows files that are modified when you save your work (map.rwm gets deleted automatically):

    * data\world\maps\base\map_climates.tga
    * data\world\maps\base\map_ground_types.tga
    * data\world\maps\base\map_heights.tga
    * data\world\maps\base\map_regions.tga
    * data\world\maps\base\map_features.tga
    * data\world\maps\base\map_fog.tga
    * data\world\maps\base\descr_regions.txt
    * data\world\maps\base\descr_sounds_music_types.txt
    * data\world\maps\base\descr_terrain.txt
    * ++ data\world\maps\base\map.rwm
    * data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_events.txt
    * data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_strat.txt
    * data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_mercenaries.txt
    * data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_win_conditions.txt
    data\text\names.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\rebel_faction_descr.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\religions.txt.strings.bin
    * data\text\imperial_campaign_regions_and_settlement_names.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\expanded.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\export_units.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\export_ancillaries.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\export_vnvs.txt.strings.bin
    * ++ data\text\historic_events.txt.strings.bin
    * data\text\strat.txt
    data\descr_cultures.txt
    data\descr_names.txt
    data\descr_sm_resources.txt
    * data\descr_sm_factions.txt
    data\descr_rebel_factions.txt
    data\descr_religions.txt
    data\export_descr_ancillaries.txt
    data\export_descr_buildings.txt
    data\export_descr_character_traits.txt
    data\export_descr_unit.txt


    All these files can be found in sub folders of ...\Medieval II Total War\tools\Geomod\M2TW_files (except map.rwm - which isn't really needed)

    ++ special note
    This file is not properly generated by Geomod and cause a long delay at game start.
    To rectify you should download the StringBin Converter (requires Python 2.6) and extract the converter into the data\text folder.
    Click 'convert_all' to get updated txt files, which in turn will generate new string.bin files, solving the problem.

    ++ special note
    This file gets deleted each time you save your work with Geomod. That way the generating of a new map will be automatically to reflect changes you have made


    .
    Last edited by Gigantus; November 09, 2012 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Links to latest versions


  3. #3
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    It works so ?

    Did you try the tool ?

    Edit : I added the correct link, I don't know why the link wasn't working

    Test :
    DL
    Last edited by sinople; October 27, 2008 at 02:10 PM.

  4. #4
    Gigantus's Avatar I came, I saw, I tutored
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    44,961
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    DLd and love it. Just wish my French was better. Have to use Babelfish for some translating I guess. This should make placing the ports and cities easy.

    Which program do you use to open the program files for translation?

    Oh yeah: the bin editor doesn't maximize, would be easier to work with.


  5. #5
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    The tool was codded with PureBasic, BinEditor just works for string.bin files for Med2

  6. #6
    Gigantus's Avatar I came, I saw, I tutored
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    44,961
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    BinEditor just works for string.bin files for Med2
    What I meant: it works, but you cannot enlarge the window to see all the text that you are working with.

    Just opened the program files with notepad++, just have to figure out the language, BASIC?


  7. #7

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    It is PureBasic, here is the official site of this programming language : http://www.purebasic.com

  8. #8

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Seems very good great job octavius but only if it was in English....

  9. #9

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    It will be translated in English later, it is only the beta version.

  10. #10
    Gigantus's Avatar I came, I saw, I tutored
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    44,961
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Quote Originally Posted by Octavius View Post
    It is PureBasic, here is the official site of this programming language : http://www.purebasic.com
    I am downloading the Demo of PureBasic
    How do I proceed after I have translated all the necessary (GUI interface lines) files?


  11. #11
    Gigantus's Avatar I came, I saw, I tutored
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    44,961
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    The program is throwing all kinds of errors, even with the original files. Maybe there are some limitations with the demo version.

    I have edited all the files from the French GUI text to English, see the attachment.

    Maybe Octavius could compile the English version from it?


  12. #12
    Romanos IV's Avatar The 120th Article, 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    the hell outta here (Athens, European Client State of Greece)
    Posts
    3,891

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    The program is throwing all kinds of errors
    Well, me, I ran it and said it couldn't find some (10 or something) files...
    Under the noble patronage of Jimkatalanos

  13. #13

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    I'll try to recompile it this evening with your english files.

    Yes there are limitations of the demo version of PureBasic, if I remember you can't compile more than 500 lines of code and you can't use the API windows functions.

  14. #14
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Well, me, I ran it and said it couldn't find some (10 or something) files...
    Yes that's why I wrote :
    Ps : I recommand you to make sav of your previews maps in case you did errors :wink:. I also warn you that Geomod is today not perfect and might have some bugs or might not be able to open all maps.

    @ gigantus : tell me when your translation will be ok, I'll upload a new link and add it to the thread. Thanks for your work too, I hope it will be useful

  15. #15
    Gigantus's Avatar I came, I saw, I tutored
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    44,961
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    @ sinople
    the translated files are in my post (#11) in the attachment.
    I used Notepad++ to edit them.

    @Romanus
    This is the list of files that the program looks for (they have to be in the mod folder that you choose):
    Code:
    data\world\maps\base\map_climates.tga
    data\world\maps\base\map_ground_types.tga
    data\world\maps\base\map_heights.tga
    data\world\maps\base\map_regions.tga
    data\world\maps\base\map_features.tga
    data\world\maps\base\descr_regions.txt
    data\world\maps\base\descr_sounds_music_types.txt
    data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_strat.txt
    data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_mercenaries.txt
    data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\descr_win_conditions.txt
    data\text\rebel_faction_descr.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\religions.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\imperial_campaign_regions_and_settlement_names.txt.strings.bin
    data\text\expanded.txt.strings.bin
    data\descr_sm_factions.txt
    data\descr_rebel_factions.txt
    data\descr_religions.txt
    data\export_descr_buildings.txt


  16. #16
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Ok, I'll wait for the recompiled version by Octavius

  17. #17
    Romanos IV's Avatar The 120th Article, 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    the hell outta here (Athens, European Client State of Greece)
    Posts
    3,891

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Do I have to unpack?
    Under the noble patronage of Jimkatalanos

  18. #18
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Yes I think

  19. #19

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Here is the recompiled version. I debugged a few things and corrected a few translations. I also recompiled an english version for the BinEditor.

    Thanks for your help gigantus!

    EDIT: I found another bug, I removed the zip.
    Last edited by Octavius; October 28, 2008 at 04:03 PM.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Geomod Tool for Mapping

    Ah this is wonderful definatly come in handy for regions faction modding. if it could be more advanced you could modify to add a entire faction however is there a way to merge this with the 12 turns a year script? And how can i open the actual MTW2 in there?
    Last edited by Nakharar; October 28, 2008 at 03:53 PM.

Page 1 of 130 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 26 51 101 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •