Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Bug Reports (0.5)

Default Bug Reports (0.5)

Aeoleron's Bug Guide

We're getting a lot of bug reports that I cannot reproduce at all. I can only guess that the problem is on their end, so I wrote up a bug checklist. Did I miss anything? I'm completely new with this debugging business.

Regarding bugs and crashes

1. Make sure you are patched to M2TW 1.2/1.3. Kingdoms is compatible but not necessary. The mod is made by and intended for English versions, we have not tested it on any other language versions so it's not guaranteed to work if you're not using English.

2. Make sure you can play the original game. We can hardly help you if it's a hardware issue.

3. Make sure you followed the installation instructions correctly. Make sure your download wasn't corrupted or damaged(usually the extracting software will inform you when you open the file)

4. Make sure no original file has been modified/changed. If you have other mods installed and are having problems playing W:TW, you can try uninstalling them. If the mod doesn't come with an installer/uninstaller, you may have to reinstall the whole game.

If you checked through the list and still encounter any bugs or errors, go to Medieval II Total War/logs and post the error log in the bug reporting thread, either by attaching the entire file or copying it into spoiler tags.

6. If you don't want to wait for a solution, you can try reinstalling the game and re-downloading the mod.

The mod comes in a "Westeros 0.5 Beta" folder. Cut and paste the contents of this folder (rather than the folder itself) into the Medieval II root folder, normally C:/Program Files/Sega/Medieval II Total War/ . Run by clicking on "Westeros.bat". This mod is Kingdoms-compatible, but should not be placed in a Kingdoms mod folder. CTD's which are unreproducible on other people's PCs are probably caused by
    - incorrect installation (files in wrong folders)
    - unpatched versions of the game