Thread: Tactics and battle formation thread

Hesus de bodemloze's Avatar The Gaul
    Civitate Patrician Content Emeritus

Default Tactics and battle formation thread

hi to all readers.

as a new Ntw2 player i have a few questions. i am new at playing this game so i was wondering what cinde of army set up do you use and are there any tactics that you can follow? so i would like to ask if you could post some tactics and army formations in this thread.

thx for the help

Hesus de bodemloze
    Horum omnium fortissimi sunt Belgae :
    Hesus 's Photo Gallery
    The Writers Study|Ex-Global Moderator|Moderation Mentor| Ex - Librarian of the Scriptorium|PoTW|MAARC|ToTW
    SPQR Forum Moderator

Gen.jamesWolfe's Avatar Vicarius

Default Re: Tactics and battle formation thread

Quote Originally Posted by Hesus de bodemloze View Post
    hi to all readers.

as a new Ntw2 player i have a few questions. i am new at playing this game so i was wondering what cinde of army set up do you use and are there any tactics that you can follow? so i would like to ask if you could post some tactics and army formations in this thread.

thx for the help

Hesus de bodemloze
    well, let me be the first to help ye,

My biggest advice is to follow your own style, not anyone else's. see what works, and what doesn't (for you), and use it.

as for what i do: well, I usually pick redcoats: nice shooters, great for blowing the enemy clean out of the water. I take advantage of the woods, the town buildings, bridges, and ditches, to escape enemy cannons, and use them like RTW walls. I prefer to aim for the general with riflemen, or pull off the "walajah" (i.e lure for an ambush from the rear). cavalry is rarely used, mostly to mop up enemy resistance, or as a stop gap measure-never as a shock troop. artillery is often used on concentrations, and generally used sparingly-I prefer to wait until the enemy is within 50m (game distance), and give them shrapnel.