Thread: Hi, I am new to modding and are looking for help

Internazionale's Avatar Campidoctor

Icon5 Hi, I am new to modding and are looking for help

So I was wondering if anyone can give me tips/help to get started modding. I feel like an outsider, as I also want to contribute to the community. The only modding I have a slightest notion about is unit scripting, like changing their stats. But thats very easy I want to learn how to model first, and then maybe texture, map etc.

Default Re: Hi, I am new to modding and are looking for help

Lots of tutorials in the Workshop, take your pick! If you wanna learn how to model, start HERE.

(Modeling is done with 3dsMax though, which costs some money and takes a good while to master, so perhaps you'd like to start with sth easier like texturing or text coding...)

moddeling - if you want good modding then you need serious money. So...if your new to modding then i'd leave that out.

skinning - it's free easy and fun!!!!!!

mapping - it's free and fun!!!! (not as easey as skinning though)

If your interested in skinning or mapping I could help, just send me a Pm.

jimkatalanos's Avatar 浪人
    Patrician

You can always check scriptorium's modding tutorials and articles.

http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...er=asc&page=10
    Ερωτηθεὶς τι ποτ' αυτώ περιγέγονεν εκ φιλοσοφίας, έφη, «Το ανεπιτάκτως ποιείν ά τινες διά τον από των νόμων φόβον ποιούσιν.

Under the professional guidance of TWC's Zone expert Garbarsardar
    Patron of Noble Savage, Dimitri_Harkov, MasterOfThessus, The Fuzz, aja5191, Furin, neoptolemos, AnthoniusII, Legio, agisilaos, Romanos IV, Taiji, Leo, Jom, Jarlaxe

Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    The universe is change; our life is what our thoughts make it.

The soul becomes dyed with the color of its thoughts.

If you desire to be good, begin by believing that you are wicked.

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.