Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast
Results 141 to 160 of 222

Thread: P.I. Beta Bug thread

  1. #141
    Benz282's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East Coast, US
    Posts
    2,955

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    I think I found the partial cause of it; will test it a little more and present my findings then.

    EDIT: Never mind, it wasn't what I thought it was. The only thing I believe could cause the "no save bug" is the script; it is a Show Me script, not a campaign script, right?
    Last edited by Benz282; February 14, 2009 at 10:49 AM.

  2. #142
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Sounds great! Good thing is that Aper is back on working the edu - things are moving in right direction again!
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  3. #143
    Benz282's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East Coast, US
    Posts
    2,955

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Yeah...it's that campaign script in the barbarian_invasion and paeninsula_italica (provincial) folders. I tried deleting the whole .txt, but that caused a crash after Faction Selection. So I deleted the contents of the .txt and now I'm able to save. Not a perfect solution, but at least we have the cause figured out now.

    I'm pretty sure that deleting the script also deleted the 4tpy, so I'll try getting that back in through a show-me.

    EDIT: No, the 4tpy is still in. The only problem I've run into so far with this fix is a harmless error message I get on exit, that references the campaign_script.txt.
    Last edited by Benz282; February 14, 2009 at 11:32 AM.

  4. #144

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Benz282 View Post
    Unfortunately, there was a problem with what I believe was the script, in that I am unable to save any campaign games.
    I was able to find a reproducible case:
    1) Start PI
    2) Single Player -> Main Campaign, start some campaign
    3) Esc -> Quit Game
    4) Single Player -> Main Campaign, start some campaign
    5) Now you can see "Load Game" and "Save Game" items grayed out

    I wonder whether this is the reason why such advanced team as EB use another approach.
    Last edited by iamphet; February 14, 2009 at 11:47 AM.



  5. #145
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Thanx for the valuable finding - I've sent HouseOfHam a pm with the question on the matter. He's the script master so he should be able to find what's wrong.
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  6. #146
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Here is the solution from HouseOfHam (hopefully):

    Yeah, it's a fairly-well known side effect of using background scripts. My solution for it is to add this to the script, somewhere before 4tpy:
    ;;;
    ;;; --- Forced shutdown ---
    ;;;
    ;;; Press 'Esc' on the campaign map, then click on the '?' button in the
    ;;; menu scroll to terminate the script.
    ;;;
    ;;; When would this be useful? -- When you are already in a game and
    ;;; exit back to the main menu to restart the campaign, or reload a saved
    ;;; game, RTW does not automatically terminate the script, so you have
    ;;; to do it yourself. If you leave the old script running, you'll have all
    ;;; sorts of weird problems with the script in the new game.
    ;;;
    monitor_event ScrollAdviceRequested ScrollAdviceRequested end_game_scroll
    terminate_script
    end_monitor
    Last edited by Hister; February 17, 2009 at 05:23 AM.
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  7. #147
    Benz282's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East Coast, US
    Posts
    2,955

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    What does the campaign script in PI do, exactly? As I said, I deleted mine and not only have I solved my saving problem, but nothing seems to be missing from the game.

  8. #148
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Benz282 View Post
    What does the campaign script in PI do, exactly? As I said, I deleted mine and not only have I solved my saving problem, but nothing seems to be missing from the game.
    Ehm, didn't you deleted the 4tpy script with it?
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  9. #149

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Yes, this will disable 4tpy.
    @Benz282
    There is an alternative: http://files.filefront.com/PI+script.../fileinfo.html (unzip it into your RTW folder overwriting existing file). The approach has been stolen from EB: you will need to press show me button to activate the script



  10. #150
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Guys guys, why don't you first try to apply that fix proposed above - it works and no need to press show me how button!
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  11. #151
    Benz282's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East Coast, US
    Posts
    2,955

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    No, I thought I had deleted the 4tpy, but in my campaigns I still have 4tpy. I checked and the 4tpy script is actually in the Show_Me folder.

    campaign_script.txt (in Campaign folder):
    Code:
    script
    
    wait 1
    console_command clear_messages
    wait 1
    advance_advice_thread Background_Script_Thread
    wait 1
    select_ui_element advisor_portrait_button
    simulate_mouse_click lclick_up
    
    end_script
    4tpy Script (descr_script.txt, in show_me folder):
    Code:
    ; generated by HouseOfHam's xtpyScriptGenerator
    script
    
    declare_show_me				; Used to automatically open the advisor text bubble when advance_advice_thread is called
    
    suspend_during_battle on
    suspend_unscripted_advice true
    
    ;console_command toggle_perfect_spy
    
    ;Handle saved game reloads
    monitor_event GameReloaded TrueCondition
       terminate_script
    end_monitor
    
    ;;;
    ;;; 4-turns per year script
    ;;;
    
    console_command date -334
    console_command season summer
    while I_TurnNumber < 1
    	suspend_unscripted_advice true
    end_while
    
    console_command date -334
    console_command season summer
    while I_TurnNumber < 2
    	suspend_unscripted_advice true
    end_while
    
    console_command date -334
    console_command season summer
    while I_TurnNumber < 3
    	suspend_unscripted_advice true
    end_while
    
    console_command date -334
    console_command season winter
    while I_TurnNumber < 4
    	suspend_unscripted_advice true
    end_while
    
    console_command date -333
    console_command season summer
    while I_TurnNumber < 5
    	suspend_unscripted_advice true
    end_while
    
    etc,etc,etc
    As you can see, the Campaign Script does not include the 4tpy script. The only thing the campaign script seems to do is delete the "Strongest Faith" message at the start of a new campaign.

  12. #152
    HouseOfHam's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    The method EB uses is actually quite a bit older. It was introduced back in 2005 when 4tpy scripts first came into use. This old method requires clicking on the advisor portrait, then on the 'Show me how' button.

    Using a campaign script to auto-start the background script when beginning a new campaign was a later find. Some mods use it, some don't. Removing it would mean that you'd always have to start the script manually, the same way you would after loading a saved game.

    Using On_display instead of Script in export_descr_advice.txt eliminates the need to press the 'Show me how' button to start the script. I discovered this last year when digging through BI files. It has no other effects whatsoever.

    Using the workaround I gave to Hister will prevent the problem with grayed-out save/load options, so there is no need to mutilate any other code. If anyone has any other ideas on how to solve this issue without removing the campaign script, I'll be happy to hear them.
    RTR website/SVN admin

    - Settlement coordinate locator -for RTW/M2TW
    - EDB Validator v1.2.8 (Oct 16, 2012) - for RTW/M2TW
    - RTW scripting tutorials
    - n-turns per year script generator

  13. #153

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Hister View Post
    Guys guys, why don't you first try to apply that fix proposed above - it works and no need to press show me how button!
    Don't get me wrong, I'm not pushing anyone. For me it's just a matter of taste: either enjoy automatic activation under threat disabling of the script manually or accept semi-automatic activation.
    Last edited by iamphet; February 18, 2009 at 01:50 AM.



  14. #154
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    No problem really - here is the script fix for saving problems:

    http://files.filefront.com/descr+scr.../fileinfo.html
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  15. #155
    HouseOfHam's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Quote Originally Posted by iamphet View Post
    Don't get me wrong, I'm not pushing anyone. For me it's just a matter of taste: either enjoy automatic activation under threat disabling of the script manually or accept semi-automatic activation.
    I'm still not convinced the old script is being auto-terminated when you don't use a campaign script.
    RTR website/SVN admin

    - Settlement coordinate locator -for RTW/M2TW
    - EDB Validator v1.2.8 (Oct 16, 2012) - for RTW/M2TW
    - RTW scripting tutorials
    - n-turns per year script generator

  16. #156

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    When playing as the messapian if I lay siege to tarentum when the turn ends the siege is lifted an the tarentum becomes neutral to me, but then it attacks me the next turn.

    Also the tactical games is impossible laggy. I have not this problem with other RTW mods. P IV3Gz 2 gb ram, 5200 video card (al set to minimoun or no detail at all)

  17. #157
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Man, this lagging is serious problem. Don't have a slightest clue why it lags so much
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  18. #158

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Lag misteriously GONE after a second try of the MOD!!!

  19. #159
    Hister's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    2,233

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Good to hear that. Well PI wasn't made on a clean base, there are meny entries reffering to vanilla game that might have an influence on the laggy matter. M2TW PI is vanilla clean tough
    PROUD MEMBER OF PAENINSULA ITALICA TEAM

    For M2TW PI forum click here.
    For RTW PI forum click here.

  20. #160

    Default Re: P.I. Beta Bug thread

    Great job with the mod!

    A quick question; I was playing as the Ligurians. After capturing a settlement, i was immediately able to recruit their troops. They were also able to recruit my Ligurian spearmen etc for their army. I THINK i downloaded the latest version (0.86).
    Is this as it is supposed to be? Might i have downloaded a torrent for an earlier version?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •