Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Imperial Glory (PC)

Yojimbo's Avatar Pig tail Sock
    Citizen

Default Imperial Glory (PC)

Hey I'm glad to see this forum here! I've been a writer for quite a while and written for Gamespot and Gamfaqs tho i left when i relized you lose rights to your own work basicly. Here is a review I wrote about 2 years ago for imperial glory. I had high hopes for that game but its laughable compared top Total War.Please if you have a read dont hesitate to say what you think i am always trying to improve. Enjoy.

Imperial Glory is truly one of the most disappointing strategy games of all time. A severe lack of understanding by the dev team and a glaring lack of talent, as well as some awful design decisions seal the fate of this truly wretched total war clone.

Imperial Glory is a 4x style game, vaguely like Total War, set in the Napoleonic era. The object much like the total war games is to conquer the world or gain the most “honor points” in the time allotted.

The problem with Imperial Glory is it’s not realistic in even the least bit. The dev team simply doesn’t understand the basic concepts of the battlefield. Take cavalry. Cavalry is used as a shock force. The shock and mass of cavalry and the terrifying appearance of a unit of horsemen charging towards you made them physiological weapon as well as an effective battering ram, especially when equipped with lances as they could skewer ranks of men.

The weakness of cavalry is that it is of limited use in melee. Because a horseman is sitting on a horse he can’t dodge and move quickly or fight effectively in a melee, as opposed to infantry, who can move and dodge as normal and have a huge target, the horse to attack. This means that cavalry, if caught up in a melee will be slaughtered by trained infantry.