Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good faction for beginners?

Default Good faction for beginners?

What is a good introductory faction to begin with for IB? I'm a veteran of the vanilla RTW, and I've played a few campaigns of vanilla BI.

I started as the western empire and got raped within the first few turns, then I started as the eastern empire. It's nowhere as difficult as the WRE, but I'm still being attacked on all sides.

Default Re: Good faction for beginners?

Roman Britons, you still have rather dominant troops, with a healthy dose of foes to fight off, but it is not as crazy as everyone else and once the Picts are gone you have a fine base.

Armenia is fun too, thought difficult as the Sassanids and Romans compete over you.

If you want impossible, try the Arabs! I did them in IJ and then in this mod and they are one of the most difficult and enjoyable factions to play as.

Thanks for the advice.... I'm gonna go try a Romano-Brit campaign now. =)

Gen.jamesWolfe's Avatar Vicarius

Quote Originally Posted by misplacedgeneral View Post
    Roman Britons, you still have rather dominant troops, with a healthy dose of foes to fight off, but it is not as crazy as everyone else and once the Picts are gone you have a fine base.

Armenia is fun too, thought difficult as the Sassanids and Romans compete over you.

If you want impossible, try the Arabs! I did them in IJ and then in this mod and they are one of the most difficult and enjoyable factions to play as.
    seconded. arabs rock in gaming experiance (they got decent units, but they're lightly armred, and surrounded be the straongest of foes)

You definitely need to use tactical stratagems, taking down Sassanid cataphracts with your light infantry is quite difficult with no woods around.

That is probably one of the most satisfying victories I've ever had.

Gee! That is impressive.

The only reason why so many of my men survived is because most of them ran away took quickly.