Thread: [RS AAR] A New Achilles?

Jingles's Avatar Praefectus

Default [RS AAR] A New Achilles?

A NEW ACHILLES?
    A Greek Cities AAR by Jingle Bombs

This is my first AAR, I've looked at others and I thought it would be a good idea to do my own. Im a slight noob at Roma Surrectum, so this AAR could quite possibly end in tears, but I still intend to enjoy it anyway!

This AAR features the Greek Cities, and my attempt to play their campaign.
    Objectives:
    • To regain control of the Greek City States
    • To Bring Epirus, Pergamum and possibly Syracuse under Greek sovereignty through bribes or becoming protectorate states if necessary.
    • To destroy Macedon and the Successor States, and show them who their true Hellenic masters are
    Rules:
    • No cheats
    • All campaigning armies must be led by a general or family member
      unless in exceptional circumstances
    • Bribes, spies and assassins are ok
    • Always use battle timer
    • Alliances and ceasefires are ok, as long as they are strategically viable (ie, no weird alliances with gaul or sarmations)
    Settings
    • Campaign difficulty hard
    • Battle difficulty hard
    • FOW on
    • AUC year system
    INTRODUCTION

It is the year 473 AUC. The remaining Greek City states are in an unenviable position, Argos and Athens are in danger of being conquered by the ambitious Macedonians, Sparta lives independantly from Greece, and the only truly safe haven for the Greeks is the island of Rhodes, and even that is only a short distance from the Ptolemaic controlled city of Halicarnassus.

This is our leader, King Kleomenes, who now resides in Rhodes, but he and his youngest son and heir Memnon vow to return to Sparta, their birthplace.

Kleomenes' days are numbered and he knows it, His youngest son and most talented tactitian Memnon has sealed a pact with old Kleomenes to continue his mission of conquest after his death. [I don't have a picture of Memnon...He is *ahem* camera/tapestry shy]