Thread: One newbie tackles the world

Default One newbie tackles the world

Hello everyone, I hope this is in the right place as this is my AAR for my SPQR modded Imperial Campaign. Using the Romans.
    Now I am a newbie to the RTM series and got this game for Christmas, but as soon as I saw some of these mods on this forum I just had to download one - SPQR worked very well.

I was immediately shocked by how difficult the initial starting is for this campaign. I am surrounded by hostile Greeks and Gauls, not to mention Hannibal and his armies of infidel on Roman soil herself!

My first port of call was challenging Hannibal and his armies to face the wrath of two of my legions commanded by Quintus Julius and Flavius Julius, I had to team up on Hannibal's force but he was very soundly beaten by Quintus before Flavius arrived just where the Cartheginians were routing to! Great success! Unfortunately I hand't thought of creating an AAR at this point and so no screen shots, although hannibal did escape...for now.

I then lost 2 cities to the north to the Gallic invaders before Vibius Julius annihilated the Gauls who were settling in Arimnium. This was my second heroic victory of my campaign so far!

Stab 'em lads!

My equites played an invaluable role in continuously flanking and counter charging the barbarian horde.

Later that turn Hannibal and the pityful ammount of Carthaginians left under his command attacked Quintus' army. Even god kings bleed.

Now that Hannibal was well and truely strung across the battlefield his second in command decided to engage my force, he had a larger and better trained army but I was confident. I had chosen a nice ambush position.

Those princepes and hastii that are hidden on the top right of the screen allowed be to route the army well and truely.

Not quite as impressive as my first clash with Carthage but a heroic victory none the less!