Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Good Playing Practices

dvk901's Avatar Consummatum est
    Patrician

Default Good Playing Practices

Through my own observations and knowledge as a software\hardware technician by profession, this thread will present a few tips for players to maintain as stable a game play experience as possible.

Good PC care practices:

1. Defragment your hard drives often. XP has a tendancy, like all Operating Systems, to fragment the hard disk with bits and pieces of files. This can lead to slow performance and, the worse it gets, to file corruption or simply mistakes in reading information...thus, CTD's in your game.

2. You should have a 'page file' when playing RTW that is at least 1.5x the amount of ram in your PC, but no more than 1 gigabyte. It should also be a 'static' page file...in otherwords, it is the same siz minimum and maximum. The reason for this is that Windows spends much less time 'maintaining' the page file if it is a static size...shrinking and expanding the file takes up cpu time, and can cause excessive delays if the file is very large. The reason the file should not be more than 1 gig is because that is all Windows can 'optimally' manage. The more you set it OVER this limit, the more you actually degrade performance rather than enhance it.

3. Run 'chkdsk' once a month. This can be done by clicking 'Start', then 'RUN'.