• In memoriam: Satoru Iwata

Special Issue (Written by IlluminatiRex)

In Memorium: Satoru Iwata

Satoru Iwata Satoru Iwata wasn't your usual CEO and President of a company. He seemed to genuinely care about not just the company; but about it's employees, products, and fans. In 2005 he stated "On my business card, I am a corporate president. In my mind, I am a game developer. But in my heart, I am a gamer". On July 11th, 2015 he sadly passed away. Hearing the news of his death made me feel overcome with grief for a man I had never met, yet it felt like I knew so well. The gaming community at large, not just Nintendo, lost a great man.

Satoru Iwata took the position of President in 2002, when Hiroshi Yamauchi, retired. Yamauchi-san had been running the company since 1949 (Yamauchi-san continued as the chairman of Nintendo's Board of Directors, until 2005 when he stepped down and Iwata-san took his place there as well). Iwata-san was in fact the first person to run Nintendo that was not a part of the Yamauchi family.